Farmers Protest: Delegation of opposition MPs stopped from reaching Ghazipur

Farmers Protest: Delegation of opposition MPs stopped from reaching Ghazipur

A delegation of 15 MPs including Harsimrat Kaur Badal of Shiromani Akali Dal, Supriya Sule From NCP, Kanimozhi, and Tiruchi Siva from the DMK, Saugata Roy from the TMC was stopped by Police on Thursday from reaching the Ghazipur border where farmers are protesting for the three farmers laws.

Harsimrat Kaur Badal, a former Union Minister resigned recently in protest against the farm laws. She tweeted after the incident, “saw first hand the conditions created at Ghazipur border. Shocked to see the treatment being meter out to the annadaata. Even the ambulances and fire brigaded cannot enter the site.” She also reported that they were all there to discuss the issue in Parliament but the speaker is not letting them raise the issue.

There has been a strong protest from the opposing parties in the parliament during the budget session. They are demanding the government to withdraw the three farm laws.

The Delhi Police on Thursday clarified that the tight security arrangements at the border remain the same. The nails placed on the roads to restrict the movement of farmers at the Ghazipur border are being “repositioned” and not removed.

Thousands of farmers have been camping at different borders of Delhi for the withdrawal of three farm laws which are——-Farmers Produce Trade And Commerce(Promotion and Facilitation) Act 2020, the Farmers Empowerment And Protection Agreement On Price Assurance And Farm Services Act 2020 and The Essential Commodities Amendment Act, 2020.

0 0 vote
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x